Update from Rhonda
1:47 a.m. || 2003-04-24

Yet another entry from me tonight... This one is an update from Rhonda, my friend whose husband has just been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer... Things look up, please keep her in your prayers!

First of all, thank you so much for all the cards and prayers. You are all such a blessing to us. The cards, calls, emails and prayers mean more than you know. I will never again think that sending a card to someone really doesn't mean very much because it does!

The results today were good - Kevin is eligible for the procedure. The doctor was so nice and he holds the same opinion as the surgeon that it is better to treat the cancer first, then remove it. The tumor is pressing against the artery, but blood is still flowing and there are no clots seen. The doctor said he will try to get our appointment moved up to meet with the oncologist (spelling?) and the surgeon, but as of right now, we go down again next Wednesday. Kevin's back is really bother him, but that too is from the tumor pressing against his spine.

Kevin is in good spirits and has a good appetite. He's already lost close to 50 pounds since January, and I am feeding him lots of good food so he won't lose anymore and will keep his strength for the long road ahead. I think I am driving him crazy with all the vitamins, grape juice, vegetables, etc., I am force feeding him - but hey, he married me for better or worse, right?

Our kids (especially Ty) are in awe of all the cards and calls we've received from members of the church, so the blessing here is that he is proud to belong to such a great Christian family, and we all feel that way.

I can't thank my family enough for all the help they've given us. My dad took off work today to go down to the hospital with us and drive us home, and Larry Krause met us down there too! Larry is a great guy! My mom, brother, sister and their spouses made sure they were here for the boys for the first big ball scrimage of the season.

Everyone has been so wonderful.

We will try to keep everyone updated as we learn more and move further along in the treatments. Please continue to remember us in your prayers as we are a long way from being healed. I know God will continue to be with us and help us through this, and we pray that we will be able to be at camp - if only for a few days.

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06