June 8 - Florida
10:08 p.m. || 06.11.03

Sunday, June 8 Today we decided to go to Fort Myers Beach here on the Gulf. It was so nice out!! We took awhile to get going in the morning, but ended up hitting the beach around 3ish. The water was incredibly warm!! At least 85 degrees, and it felt great. I havent been in salt water in quite some time so I forgot HOW salty it is, but it was okay. When we got to the beach we put our blankets and towels down and immediately headed for the water. It is so shallow for such a long ways, that we could go quite a ways out and I could still touch the bottom.

We messed around in the water for awhile, doing silly wrestling moves and searching for sand dollars. Mark put one on my shoulder at first and I flipped out before I really realized what it was. They are actually really cool, and after that I kept looking for more. Mark found a bazillion of them, but I had trouble.

We had a blast in the water, except for one small incident. Mark had his glasses off for most of the time we were in the water. Well, Andy had spotted something on the beach and wanted Mark to look. So... Mark puts on his glasses, looks at what Andy was pointing at, and then turns back to us. Forgetting he has his glasses on, he dives into a wave... and loses his glasses. Poor Mark. He felt them hit his leg, but when he reached for them, they were gone. We looked as much as we could in the water, but it was really stirred up and hard to see, and we didnt have much luck. So, we came to shore and looked to see if they washed up, but no luck there either. So, Mark resigned to the fact that he lost his glasses.

We went back into the Gulf for awhile, and then decided to go walking to the more populated, touristy part of the beach. We gathered up our things, put them in Mark's car, and then drove a little closer to the populated area. From there, we decided to walk, because there was a lot of traffic.

We ended up walking quite a bit further than we had anticipated, but it was a nice walk. The guys were wearing t-shirts and their trunks, and I was wearing my swimsuit and a towel, but really, I didnt care. There were people bigger than me walking around with a lot less on. I wasnt too self-conscious, for a change. So, we walked into the more touristy section and decided to check out some shops. We ended up buying some postcards, to keep and to mail, and then did a lot of browsing around.

After shop-hunting, we decided to eat at this 50s diner called Squiggys. It was really good!!! I had a burger and a strawberry milkshake and I was definitely full. After leaving Squiggys, we walked back to the car, and drove home. We were covered in salt and some sand and desperately needed showers.

After showering, we decided to head to WalMart to buy some extras that we couldnt find at a good price at Publix. We got ice cream and hamburgers, and I think that was it.

After WalMart, we came home and decided to eat our desserts we had gotten at Applebees the night before. And they were SO good! Mine was so rich I couldnt even eat the entire thing, I saved it for the next night!

I cant remember what else we did tonight... probably watched a movie and all fell asleep on Mark's bed. That seems about right for every night we've spent here.

Well... stay tuned for Monday!

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06