July 1 - Andy's Last Full Day
12:52 a.m. || 07.08.03

Tuesday, July 1 Today we got to sleep in, finally!! We got up and messed around for awhile, and then decided we should probably figure out what we were doing for the day, and get ready.

We decided to go to eat at The Silo, this little resturant in Lewiston on the Niagara River. We love going there cause the view is really pretty, and they have really good food. I ended up getting a grilled chicken sandwich with BBQ sauce and cheese. It was really messy, but GOOD! Andy got a chicken sandwich with bacon. It was supposed to have ranch dressing on it, but I think they forgot it. We sat and watched the boats and people for awhile, then when we were done, we decided to go back down to Fort Niagara to see if we could see Toronto. The sky didnt look too promising, but we decided to go for the drive anyhow.

We took the scenic route this time, instead of the Parkway, and we admired all the houses as we drove. The route we took is right along the river, and the houses are huge. I can only imagine how much they cost. On the way there, we passed by Joseph Davis State Park, where my cousins, sister and I used to go swimming when we were younger. I decided to take a drive in to see what exactly is there and what it looks like now. Well, I dont think its really used for anything anymore. There was some beautiful picnic space (looked more like a golf course, really), but that was pretty much it. The parking lot was all run down and I didnt see the pool anywhere. So... we left.

We continued to drive to Fort Niagara. When we got there, we noticed that there was an attendant in the ticket booth. Ugh. So far this year, there have been no people manning the booths, but I suppose maybe it started July 1. And it costs like $7 to get in. :( I dont want to sound cheap or anything, but I'm not going to pay that much so that maybe we could see Toronto. And there are plenty of free places to do such. So, we turned around and left. We took the same route back into Lewiston, and by that point it had started to sprinkle. As we were coming into the village, I remembered that they have a DiCamillos bakery there (the main one is in Niagara Falls), so we decided to stop. We ended up buying a few treats (cream puffs and a lady finger), and when we went to leave, it was pouring! We ran out to the car, and decided to head back to the apartment. The sky looked lighter over there, so we decided to go home and see what the weather was looking like.

When we got home, we ate a few of our treats, and also checked on driving ranges. Neither of us have clubs, so we had to go to someplace that either had ones we could use or ones we could rent. We called the range over in Tonawanda, by the Paddock Chevrolet Golf Dome in Brighton Park, and they had drivers you could use for free! So, we headed over there for some fun. We ended up buying 1 large and 1 small bucket, and at first were taking turns using the same tee cause the range was pretty packed. Andy went first, and he did really well! He can hit the ball pretty far, and he even hit the back net a few times. I, on the other hand, do not usually tee off with a driver. I've only played golf 3 times in my life, and I usually stick to two clubs (a 6 iron and a putter). The only time I tried to use a driver, I kept missing the ball, and the weight of the club was throwing me off. So, I was pretty nervous about golfing with this driver. I really really didnt want to look stupid, especially in front of all these people.

But... I actually turned out to be half-decent! I only whiffed on the ball a few times, and Andy kept teasing me. But, I really wasnt bad! I was excited actually, and I wish I had my own clubs so I could practice more often. One funny thing happened when we were there, and I missed it! Once, when Andy and I were still sharing the tee, he was up and he took a swing, and the ball flew... and so did the head of the driver! It broke right off! Good quality clubs, I tell ya! So, he went back to the clubhouse thingy and asked for a new one. I guess that happens all the time. It was funny though, and a bunch of people saw.

When we left the driving range, we decided to go down to the river again. I had brought along jeans and a sweatshirt, just in case, but it turns out I didnt need them. Andy and I ended up going and just sitting on a bench today (but not before he went and got us milkshakes again!) and I brought my Reader's Digest. We ended up sitting on the bench, and I was reading jokes to him out of the Reader's Digest (I love that magazine). We had a good time and we stayed until it was too dark to read any more.

When we got home, we decided to eat our vanilla bean cheesecake from TGI Fridays and we played some more Magic. Andy beat me of course, but it was all good. After the game was over, we watched a movie, and fell asleep fairly quickly. That part sucked though, cause he was leaving the next day :(

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06