Snow!
9:45 p.m. || 11.24.03

Well, it was 70 yesterday. It was even freakin 65 this morning. We took out kids outside to play!! Now look at it...

random car in my parking lotout my bedroom window

Ain't that peachy? And also, I said I'd post a picture of what it looked like 3 years ago this week... We got out of class early TONIGHT cause of that storm -- my professor had been stuck in that storm and had to spend the night at Buff State, and she didnt want the same thing to happen tonight. So here it is, a postcard from Buffalo, NY.

November 20, 2000

And the caption reads "Buffalo, NY, 4:00pm, Monday, November 20, 2000: Savage lake-effect snowstorm has the city under siege dumping twenty-five inches in 6 hours. Rush hour is at a standstill. Thousands wait it out overnight in stranded automobiles. Mayor Anthony Masiello declares State of Emergency and shuts down the city. By midnight, road crews and snowplows are assembled, and a massive counter-offensive is underway. At 6:00am, November 22, 2000, Buffalo's trains, planes and automobiles are on the move again. It was the third largest single-day snowstorm in Buffalo's history -- enough to cripple a city of comparable size for many days or more. After only one complete day of clean up, the City of Buffalo was back in business"

I remember that storm clearly... Tons of people never made it home from work. Hundreds of school children spent the night at McDonalds and the like, they never made it home. The storm hit just before rush-hour, and it SAT right over the city. In fact, those cars in that postcard are abandoned cars. Most peoples cars were towed to an empty lot, their license plates registered, and people could call the cops to find out where their car was so they could go pick it up. The streets couldnt be plowed til the cars were moved, so thats how they did it. Some side streets werent plowed for months, some never were, they just melted. Some of my friends had to take alternate ways home, especially if they lived south or east. The dorms stayed open til Thanksgiving morning. The NYS Thruway was closed until just after Rochester. It was just all nuts.

Want to hear the most nuts thing about it? I was at Niagara University during that time. For those of you who dont know, NU is about 20 minutes north of Buffalo. We had NO snow. None. Couldnt make a snowball if we wanted. But yet we were basically stranded, because there was snow to the east and the south. Theres no where else to go. I was one of the lucky ones, I lived just close enough (30 minutes east) where I could drive home. In fact, I didnt hit ANY snow on my drive home. My baby even got to come visit for Thanksgiving! The next day I drove back up to Niagara Falls and picked him up at the Amtrak station. Still no snow. Lake effect is so weird.

Crazy Buffalo weather. Crazy lake effect. I hate to drive in it, but seriously, I love it!

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06