Christmas survey!
12:12 p.m. || 12.14.03

Here�s a cool Christmas quiz. I figured I was in the mood cause it�s snowing like crazy outside! I will try to get pictures of different stuff (like the tree, topper, skirt, ornaments, etc.) throughout the quiz, if I can. Have fun reading!

About the TREE...

  1. When do you put up the Christmas tree: Usually the beginning of December. When I was younger, we didn�t put it up before my sister�s birthday (Dec 9). This year, I put it up Dec 7th, but it didn�t have ornaments on til the 11th.
  2. Real or Fake: Fake, always has been. Maybe some day I will try a real tree.

  3. Use Lights: Yup, I have 3 strands on, so that totals 300 lights.
  4. Garland: Yep Silver
  5. Theme or no theme: No theme, just a lot of ornaments from my childhood.
  6. What kind of topper: A star with white lights

  7. What's your favorite ornament: There was this ornament, in the shape of a house with 2 doors, and you could twist the knob on the bottom and the 2 people would rotate through the doors, in one and out the other. For some reason, I don�t have it this year. It was always my favorite as a child, I really don�t have one as an adult.
  8. What does your tree skirt look like: My mom gave me 3 to choose from this year, but I chose Winnie the Pooh.

  9. Where do you put your tree: In my living room, on the opposite side from last year. Its sorta near my hamster, I wonder if he likes it!
  10. Who decorates the tree: When I was younger, it was my sister and I. My mom let us go nuts. As we grew older, it was just me. Last year Andy and I decorated it, and we were going to this year too, when Andy was up for a visit, but we didn�t have enough garland, so I ended up decorating it by myself.
  11. What's "under" the tree: The tree skirt� I really need more. Presents will eventually go under there. Actually, I just bought a ton last night, so they will go there today.
  12. Do you put candy canes on your tree: When I was younger, yeah. My mom has Starburst ones at home. I really should go buy some! I was never big on the mint kind, but the flavored ones are yummy!

About the FOODS...

  1. What's your favorite Christmas cookie: My mom always just made Christmas cut-outs, but I wasn�t a huge fan.
  2. Do you bake cookies and give them away: No, but Andy�s mom does, and last year we helped her, and made Chocolate Chip cookies.
  3. Any "special" foods or candy that you only have at Christmas time: Eggnog! But I drink that throughout the holiday season. At Andy�s, we have Kibbe, a Lebanese dish with raw hamburger meat� its an acquired taste. I like the Fried Kibbe better � no �moo-ing� meat for me! LOL
  4. What do you eat on Christmas EVE: My family was never big on Christmas Eve. Sometimes we�d go to my uncle�s house and have veggies and dip, crackers, cheese and pepperoni, stuff like that. As I got older, I�d go to Andrea�s grandma�s house and then to Christmas Eve service with her. There we�d have about the same things, and some fudge, candy, etc. Lately, I�ve been doing Christmas Eve with Andy, since it is his birthday, and his family has a big get-together at his house. They have ham, kibbe (made by his grandma), lasagna (made by his mom � its pretty good, but has sausage � ick), veggies and dip, cheese, crackers and pepperoni, candy, cookies, fudge (made by his mom), all sorts of stuff!
  5. What do you eat on Christmas Day: When I do Christmas with my family, we have either ham or turkey and all the fixings. With Andy, because we have a big dinner Christmas Eve, we do breakfast. Usually Andy and I make pancakes and bacon, and lots of it, for everyone!
  6. Do you like Eggnog: Oh hell YES!
  7. Do you like candy canes: Fruit-flavored ones.

About the DECORATIONS

  1. Where do you hang your stockings: At my parents, we hung them on the knobs on the hutch in our dining room. Here at my apartment, I have no where to put them. I should�ve bought stocking hangers last night at Target, but I didn�t.
  2. Do you put lights on your house: Yep, I have multi-colored lights in both of my living room windows, and multi-colored icicle lights on my balcony railings.
  3. Got any outside lawn decorations: No, I live in an apartment. Otherwise I might.
  4. Do you put up a nativity: I used to when I was younger. I should ask my mom for it, cause she doesn�t put it up anymore. It was always my favorite thing to put up, and it was set against our dark cherry hutch, so it looked light nighttime, it was cool. There is a Charming Tails nativity set, I saw it at a store in Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario (they actually have all the individual pieces), but its expensive.
  5. Do you hang mistletoe under the door: No, but I saw some at Tops the other day. I should�ve bought some. Maybe I will be brave and trek over there today. Its only a 10 minute walk, if I have to.
  6. Got a wreath on your front door: No, my mom gave me an old fake one, but she said it was ugly. They sold real wreaths at work, but I don�t remember hearing about ordering them. They smelled GOOD.
  7. How long does it take you to decorate: Depends when I get the stuff from my parents� house, if I have everything, and if I feel like decorating or not.

About the MOVIES / SHOWS

  1. Favorite Children's Christmas TV show: Christmas Eve on Sesame Street, The Christmas Toy, Emmet Otter�s Jug Band Christmas, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, A Garfield Christmas, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Muppet Family Christmas� I love kids Christmas movies!
  2. Which is best Wonderful Life / Miracle on 34th Street / A Christmas Carol (Scrooge): I�ve never seen It�s A Wonderful Life, and I don�t remember much about Miracle on 34th Street�
  3. Favorite Christmas movie: Besides the kids ones I already named? Probably A Christmas Story or National Lampoon�s Christmas Vacation.
  4. Have you ever seen the Nutcracker Suite Ballet live: No
  5. Ever been to the Radio City Music Hall Christmas show: No
  6. Ever gone to the movies on Christmas Day: No, but I have been to the bar (or maybe that was Christmas Eve� I don�t remember).
  7. Did you know it's the biggest day of the box-office: I didn�t even know it was open.

Other CHRISTMAS THINGS

  1. Favorite Christmas book or story: Twas the Night before Christmas, I guess. I cant think of many others.
  2. Do you stuff your stockings with any types of food: The holiday packages for Orange Tic-Tacs
  3. Do you go to church on Christmas or Christmas Eve: When I am at home with my family, I go with Andrea and her family on Christmas Eve. I love it.
  4. Have you ever gone Caroling: When I was younger and a Girl Scout, we�d go around different neighborhoods, and to nursing homes and stuff.
  5. Favorite Christmas Carol: Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas� it has sentimental value for Andrea and I� We met in 7th grade at our friend Megan�s Christmas party, and we both sat at Megan�s player piano, playing that song all night long.
  6. Do you "believe" in Santa: Yes I do� Its just Christmas Magic
  7. Do you leave Santa cookies: When I was younger, we did. We left cookies and milk. We�d also write a letter to Santa, and one of my parents would write his reply in this scrawly handwriting.
  8. What about Rudolph...leave him anything: Yeah, usually carrots
  9. What was your best Christmas gift: Oh gosh, I have no idea� I guess Woofer, my Pound Puppy. I still sleep with him. My parents were always very good to my sister and I with gifts, I just cant remember which was the �best�, so I�ll say Woofer!
  10. What was the worst/most odd gift: My grandma got my sister and I Elvis Presley tapes. My grandma likes Elvis, I only like a select few Elvis songs, but it was the thought that counts, right? We thanked her, of course!
  11. Do you go to a "work" Christmas party: I went with Andy one year when he worked at Hannaford. We had one this year, but I had just started working and didn�t really know many people.
  12. Do you hate going: I liked Andy�s, but we sat at a table with my college roommate Danielle, her boyfriend Eric, her brother Justin, and a few friends, so it was fun. I also drank a lot.
  13. Do you send Christmas cards (handmade or bought): Yep, I have to write them out today. I wish I was crafty enough to make my own!
  14. When do you start shopping: This year I actually started in October, when I saw something in Texas I wanted to get Andy. Usually I will pick up odds and ends that I see first, and then I will start major shopping in December.
  15. Do you shop on Black Friday: Usually I�ll go out, but maybe not buy anything. This year I found a good deal on a memory card for my camera (was $100, got it for $40 after instant rebates).

Well, I hoped you enjoyed my survey!! Feel free to do your own, and leave me the link, I�d love to come read! Here�s a picture to leave you with� my first Christmas, 1979.

Christmas 1979

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06