Class tomorrow!
10:14 p.m. || 01.27.04

Well, tomorrow is my first day of class!! I'm only taking one this semester, because they cancelled my other class (Advanced Applied Behavior Analysis - ABA) due to low enrollment. The sucky thing is, that class was held at the school I work at and I use ABA everyday with my kids! Oh well, hopefully they offer it next fall or spring, or else I may have to do an independent study. It just wouldnt be right to put my graduation on hold for a class they dont offer all the time or cancel due to low enrollment. Anyways, the class I am taking is called Consultation and Collaboration. It should be interesting, considering how heavily we rely on a team approach in my classroom.

Speaking of my class, I feel so guilty for not going in today. I always do when I take the day off. Today the weather was just too awful though. I dunno. I feel like a slacker, I do, but at least I spent the day working on things for work and doing something useful with my time. I am currently making a communication book for one of my kids. I'll call him OB, as I think I have referred to him as that in the past. A few weeks ago, OB's mom asked if we would make him a communication book for home. He is 4 and has quite a vocabulary, but it is quite difficult to understand. However, if he has the picture to go along with the word, it makes his vocalizations that much easier to decipher. So, what I have been doing is compiling pictures using the program Boardmaker, as well as pictures OB's mom has sent in, along with pictures I have taken from the internet, and put them into a binder. If anyone is familiar with PECS (Picture Exchange Communication System), you'll understand exactly what I mean. The process has been tedious, and its a little difficult for me to explain, but I will tell you that the book is going to look wonderful when it is completed (should be in the next few days). I really am proud of the work I have done on it, and I hope OB's family is pleased!

Speaking of OB's family, his mom wrote me a note the other day, and in the note asked if I would be interested in babysitting for OB! I can only imagine how difficult it is for parents of children like OB to find babysitters (and OB is generally a very easy-going child... there are much more difficult children in my class) and I was extremely flattered that she asked me! I definitely need to call her tomorrow on my lunch break and talk to her about this new opportunity! It should be interesting, as OB also has 3 sisters, and I dont know if it would be just for OB or for all 4 kids. Overall, I am thrilled and I hope I can form a positive relationship with OB's family. Did I mention that OB is my favorite little guy there? I just love him to pieces!

In other things, I got Andy's W2 form from Tops at the apartment today. Its making me antsy to get mine so I can go ahead and file my taxes. I should be receiving two, one from People Inc. which should go to my parents' house, and one from Summit, which will come here. I just hope things dont get screwy cause I have two different addresses on my W2s and my dad still will claim me as a dependent for 2003, as he is paying for a majority of my expenses and I was also on his health insurance, car insurance, etc. I dont exactly know how those tax things work. I guess we'll find out when we go to file.

Other than that, I really dont know what to write about. I still want to write about Christmas and New Years and presents and all that fun stuff, but I really dont have the time now. Its already 10:30 and even though I dont feel tired, I should get to bed cause 7am comes very early. Hopefully the roads will be good tomorrow, I dont think its supposed to snow much overnight, and its supposed to stop during the day altogether, so that will be nice for my drive to class tomorrow night. Anyways, I'm gonna get going... Leave me some comments or something, I love hearing from you all!

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06