I HATE SNOW!
9:34 p.m. || 01.28.04

Well, the weather was downright DREADFUL again today. I've been using that phrase all day, I sorta like it. Hehe! But, not to describe the weather. :( I woke up today at 7 and could NOT see out my windows, the snow was coming down and blowing everywhere. I turned on the news and it was just awful. After watching for a few, I got in the shower just in case the weather let up. Well, it didnt, and around 7:45 I called work and said that I would come in late. I'm glad I did, cause the 290 (the highway I take to go to work) was reported to be moving at 10mph AT MOST and they showed a picture of it and you couldnt even see the cars, just brake lights. I didnt even care if work was mad at me. I was worried about my team, I didnt want them to think I was slacking, but seriously, driving in snow gives me anxiety attacks or something. Its really really bad. You'd think I didnt grow up around here. I didnt really mind driving in snow til I went off the road and into a ditch in 2002. That just ruined me. I dunno. I hate it.

Anyways, I watched TV for awhile, til around 11:30. I watched an AM show in Buffalo and they had parents call in and complain about how schools werent closed, and a lot of parents kept their kids home today. I couldnt believe that NONE of the schools around here closed. The weather was just downright dangerous. People were off the roads all over the place and there was a fatal accident in the southern tier. It was just bad bad bad.

So, around 11:30 I decide to venture into work. After cleaning off my car, I left a little after 12. The roads were ok, not completely snow-free, but ok. As I got closer to work on the 290, it got worse, the left lane was completely snow covered and there was snow in both of the other lanes, but I didnt have to travel far and I am glad for that. I got to school a little before 12:30 and went to try and find my class, since they'd be between free-gym and the classroom. I found a couple of the people in my room walking with TR (who goes to another room in the afternoon) and ME's mom was walking him, and I found April in the gym with OB who was running around like a little maniac. April and I got him under control and walked back to the class. Come to find out, we only had TWO kids in the morning. TWO! Out of NINE! Well, technically we had 3, but MB was doing intensive potty training all day (dont get me started) so he wasnt in the room at all. In the afternoon we had 4 kids (OB, ME, MC and DN). The latter three are only PM kids. Everyone was a little surprised to see me, but I was glad to be there. I was getting REALLY bored at home, let alone feeling really guilty. Tara told me how it took her an HOUR to get to work this morning. An HOUR! Its normally a 10-15 minute drive. She said she left at 7:30 cause she is supposed to be there at 8, and didnt get there til 8:30! I guess the kids (OB and TR) didnt get there til almost 10 (school starts at 9). Its funny that those were the only 2 kids, cause they were also the only 2 that showed up back in November when all the schools were closed cause we had this major windstorm and threat of snow. OB and TR ride the same bus, go figure.

Okay, I am really tired. Is any of this making sense to anyone else? I am so glad that class was cancelled tonight cause I just wanted to come home and lay on the couch. It was a really stressful day and ugh, I am so tired.

Ya know what sucked about work today though? Well at 1, Tara left to go do some paperwork, cause there were 6 adults in the room (including her) and only 4 kids. Well, after she left, I did afternoon circle time, and then it was time to do some work (ABA). Well, in the middle of my circle, in walk the DIRECTOR of Summit and two other people to OBSERVE! So... yeah that was fun. Especially when 3 of the kids are the least participatory in circle cause they are basically non-verbal, and the other 1 (ME) is a little terror and likes to run around the room. I'm just glad I was leading circle and didnt have to chase him around in front of those people.

So yeah, that was my day. I probably left out huge chunks but oh well. I am talking to Aaron, my "brother" in Texas right now. I havent talked to him since Dec 27th, which was his 14th birthday, and I really really miss him. Aww he just signed off abruptly. Today's his mom's birthday and she was out with her boyfriend and Aaron was home sick. We were talking about Playstation 2 games. LOL I miss him terribly.

Oh and I talked to OB's mom today about babysitting! She is estatic that she found someone who is familiar with OB (and she says he absolutely loves me... I dont know how she knows that, seeing as how she has never seen us together and OB doesnt really talk, but it was nice of her to say it anyways, cause he does really love me, he is attached at my hip when we are at school). We didnt really discuss pay or anything, and honestly I'm not worried about it unless her girls are terrors or something. I've never babysat for 4 children before, but I spend all day with 9 nutty preschoolers, anything has to be easier, right?

Okay... this is long enough, I wasnt even really planning on writing tonight. Aaron isnt back yet, and its after 10. Time for me to get ready for bed and call my Andy! Goodnight all! :)

Oh! I almost forgot. Today is the 27th anniversary of the Blizzard of 77 here in Buffalo. I wasnt born yet, but my parents both have amazing stories from it. My mom didnt make it home for days, and my dad was stranded at work. The next time I go home, I will bring back pictures and put them on here. The snow was over my mom's head (shes 5'1"). It was just amazing. For more incredible pics, go here The White Death.

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06