The River
3:11 a.m. || 05.29.03

I've been going down to the river a lot. The Niagara River, for those of you who dont live around here. Its really peaceful, really calming. Usually I'll bring a book and my dinner, and sit on a bench and eat and read. I cant wait til the weather warms up, and I'll be able to sit down there for longer periods of time. Its just so beautiful, I love it.

I was there the other day, reading Good In Bed, and decided to get up and go for a walk. There is an amazing bike/walking path, and it stretches for miles and miles. As I was walking, I saw this couple laying on a blanket on the grass. They were covered by a blanket, and all snuggled up next to each other. It wasnt a particularly warm day. The girl was laying on her back, and the guy was laying on his side, snuggled up against the girl. They looked so peaceful, so content. I almost started to cry right there. Actually, what I also thought was that I wish I could take a picture. I like to preserve memories, emotions, in pictures. I love to take pictures. Seeing these two people, it just really affected me. I cant even really put it into words.

Andy and I used to go down to the river a lot. We'd go walking, or just sit and talk. We went down there for the 4th of July, and spent the afternoon there, and then into the night for the fireworks. Sometimes we would sit on the benches, and I'd put my head on his lap, and we'd just sit there and watch the water, the people, the birds. It was a nice time. It was a good time. Whenever I am at the river, I think of him. Its very calming. They are nice memories. I'm sure it wont be the last time we are at the river. I love going there, and I know he does too. Maybe someday we can overcome everything thats going on right now. And we can go there again.

I love the water. Its so calming. I love watching the boats, the ducks, the people. There are old people, holding hands, going for a leisurely stroll, there are young people on bikes, rollerblades, scooters. There are dogs and even a ferret, once. There are squirrels, ducks, geese and seagulls. Usually I end up feeding some creature while I am at the park.

I've been to the river a lot in the past week. I drove by there tonight, around 10:45pm, and it was very dark, but there were still people there. There were cars, and people walking. I bet it was so nice in the moonlight. I'll have to go down there sometime at night. Not by myself, of course, but it will be nice. Just to sit there and listen to the water hit the rocks.

It reminded me of a night I spent in Syracuse about 2 years back. Sitting at the duck pond, and then Onondaga Lake, just sitting. Enjoying the silent company of one of my best friends and the peaceful way of the water. Watching the ducks swim back and forth. Laying on the grass and seeing the stars. To be at peace and feel loved. That was a good night. I will remember that night always.

This entry didnt exactly go where I wanted it to. I dunno. I just dont know what I wanted to convey. I'm gonna go now. I'm sorry.

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06