June 28 - June's Bday and DCI Show
12:17 a.m. || 07.05.03

Saturday, June 28th Andy and I finally woke up around 1pm Saturday afternoon. We probably would have slept longer but my mom called and woke me up. After talking to her, we decided to get ready because June (from my work)'s birthday party was that afternoon. I had bought her coloring books the day before, and wrapped those as we got ready for the day. Around 2:30 we left for my work.

I wasnt quite sure if Andy could come in with me (they are weird about visitors and stuff sometimes, especially with my boss (Shana)there and stuff). So, he waited in the car as I walked up to the house. The first person I came upon was Brandi's boyfriend Jim, who sitting outside with Andy (who lives at the house I work at... I'll call him Andy K for confusion sake). I talked with Jim for a bit, and he told me that most everyone brought their bf/gf, so I went back to the car and got Andy. We went inside and the house was packed!! And Jim was right... Mike had his girlfriend there, Cara had her husband Jason and 4 kids (Trent, Anthony, Devon and Tea), Cathy had her two children, and Tammy had her husband Tim, daughter Tera and Tera's friend... It was a really full house! Also other people from work were there, Robecca, Sue, and this new guy Eric (I think thats his name). Also, June had a bunch of people from her senior center, as well as her bus driver, and Rita also had her niece Maureen there. Maureen is really close with Rita and June and acts as their advocate. Shana was not there yet, which I was so glad about.

Cara had a lot to ask me about Shana, who she now calls "Dwarf Satan". (Thursday night, Mike IMed me and asked if I still worked for People Inc. I was like "yeah... why?" and apparently he had heard that I was fired...) So, I talked to Cara about that (apparently Mike was confused and thought that because my name wasnt on the schedule at all), and then EVERYONE asked me about it. Eric (the new guy) wouldnt let it drop and kept asking me if I was fired. He was driving me nuts. Anyways... Cara told me how she had called Shana the other day, and Shana had the nerve to yell at Cara and tell her to figure the problem out herself. Now... Shana is our Program Manager. She is on-call 24/7. We are supposed to call her if we have a problem. That is her job! So she yelled at Cara about it. Well... Cara is the WRONG person to yell at. Since Angela (Shana's boss) was on vacation starting that day, Cara wrote Angela a letter and stuck it in her mailbox. She is also planning on having a long conversation with Angela about Shana. Apparently I am not the only one having major problems with her. She is such a troll.

Anyhow... we hung out at the party for awhile. Andy knew a few people, and talked with Brandi's boyfriend for awhile too. We ate some (they were grilling hotdogs and burgers) and I gave June her presents. She seemed to like them, but she didnt say much. I think she was a little overwhelmed. (She told me Sunday that she wished I coulda stayed longer, so she was obviously paying attention although it didnt seem that way).

After awhile, Shana arrived, and I couldnt stand listening to her voice, it was just grating on me, so Andy and I decided to leave. We had wanted to check out the Shawnee Fire Company's field days, so we drove out there. They ended up not being very big, and I was somewhat disappointed. There werent many rides and not many places to get food. It was somewhat pathetic. We walked around for awhile, I got some strawberry shortcake, and Andy got some french fries, and then we decided to leave.

We needed to buy some gifts for some people, so we headed out to do that. One gift was for my Uncle Dave (my mom's big brother) who helped us move in last year. Unfortunately I am somewhat forgetful and I had forgotten to get him something to thank him for all his help. Well, since it was practically the "one year anniversary" of my move, I figured I would send him a card saying how I still remembered all his help, etc. We decided to get him a gift certificate to Red Lobster. He and my Aunt Nan love going there.

The second present was for Mark and his mom for having us stay there. I know Mark hasnt been online much lately, and hasnt read my diary in quite some time, so I figure I can write about it safely. Andy and I decided to get them a gift certificate to TGI Fridays. We went there when we were visiting, and I know Mark really liked it. Also, Mark and his mom also know one of the hostesses there, so we thought it was a good choice. Hopefully they like it.

After running those errands, we headed over to UB for Drums Along the Waterfront, a DCI (Drum Corps International show. I took my mom and grandma last year for Mother's Day, and they absolutely loved it. You see, my mom was in Drum Corps when she was younger, along with her brothers. Their parents (my grandparents) were super involved, and loved every bit of it. So, this year, I decided I wanted to go again, and Andy came with me this year! Usually it is held at Dunn Tire Park, where the Buffalo Bisons (AAA Baseball) play, but this year, due to a game at the Park, it was switched to the stadium at UB North Campus. The change was extremely nice though, there was so much more parking at UB, and it was free too! The stadium was also SO much less crowded, and there was more room for the vendors from the different drum corps to set up.

The show was wonderful, as usual. This year they also had the Senior Corps performing as well. You see, DCI is made up of Junior Corps, where you have to be under the age of 21. To be a member of a Senior Corps, you must be at least 17. Many members of the Senior Corps are alumni of the Junior Corps. Anyhow... I'll get on with my entry... The show was AWESOME! And Andy really seemed to enjoy himself. He really got into the technical part of the program and the competition stuff, and correctly picked the 1st Place Corps (although they were so much better than everyone else, it was inevitable they were going to win). We had a great time. In fact, the only complaint I have about the entire night (well, about the stadium actually) is that you have to sit on bleachers, and they are cold and hard. My butt was hurting BAD by the end of the night.

We chowed a little at the show, but decided to get subs when we got home. We ordered them, and then went to get them. Andy got some sort of club sub, and I got a chicken finger sub (with HOT sauce of course). After eating, I think we probably watched a movie and got going to bed... I had to work at 8am the next morning :( Ugh.

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06