July 4 - FIREWORKS!!
12:59 a.m. || 07.10.03

Friday, July 4 Today, since I didn�t go to bed til 7am, I thought I could sleep in a little, but no. My mom called at noon. Ugh. She was out garage-saleing with my sister and they wanted to know where this one road was. So� I had to get out of bed, go over to the computer and look it up for them. My mom was like �Were you still sleeping?� I answer �no� and look up their street. Ugh. I was so tired.

Instead of going back to sleep, I decided to stay up and get things ready to go. Of course, THAT didnt happen, and I spent time chatting on the computer with Danielle. We talked about my upcoming visit with Andy and how much I hoped that we could finally get together. She said she'd do what she could to get out to Shannon's house the week I was there. I talked to her for awhile, and then decided it was time to get my butt in gear. I got together my dirty clothes so I could do laundry when I was out there, I packed my bag, cause I was staying over night, and I grabbed a few movies I thought my dad would like (Blackhawk Down, Red Dragon and Gone in 60 Seconds). I sorta wanted to go to the mall first, to see if I could find anymore of those 12 Days of Christmas Charming Tails, and to see if I could find anything cute for Lilli, but I didnt. I figured I was already running late and I wanted to get out to my parents house.

When I got there, they were waiting for me to start cooking. My dad grilled steaks, and my mom had made baked beans, a salad and some macaroni salad. I was starving cause I hadnt eaten yet, and it was so good! After dinner, I went into the living room and put on a movie. I decided to put on Snow Dogs but I was pretty tired, and only made it through about half of it. I was half-awake through the rest of it, and vaguely remember my dad coming in and sitting down. He watched the rest of Snow Dogs before putting in a movie of his own. He wanted to watch Red Dragon as he had not seen this version of it. There was a movie made in 1986 called Manhunter, which is a previous version of Red Dragon. In fact, my dad told me after seeing Red Dragon that almost everything is the same, the characters, lines, everything. He seemed to like both versions very much.

But, when he tried to put Red Dragon into the DVD player, nothing happened. No movie, not even any of the legal mumbo-jumbo. Nothing. Sigh. I had bought the movie previously-viewed like 2 months prior, so I wasnt sure if there was anything I could go about it, but I decided to try. So, my mom and I headed over to Hollywood Video to see if I could exchange it. I ended up having absolutely no problem, even though I didnt have the receipt (I had the plastic packaging, cause I had just opened it that day), and everything was cool.

As soon as my mom and I got home, it was time to head over to the fireworks. My sister decided to stay home, so it was just my mom, dad and I. We had thought about going to the fireworks in Tonawanda at Niawanda Park, where I have been the past couple of years (its beautiful, right on the river), but we decided not to cause the traffic is usually bad. So, we decided to stay in Lockport and go over to Outwater Park. This is where I always went growing up, but I havent been there in a few years (I remember one year, all the fireworks went off at once, on accident, and the show was like one big finale, although it only lasted like 5 minutes).

We found a parking place very easily, and a place to sit right away. We had brought our chairs (ya know, the cloth fold-out ones everyone has now?) and sat down. We had an awesome view. We waited about a 1/2 hour for things to start, and about 10:10pm they did. And they were fabulous!! The fireworks went on for about 30 minutes, and it was just one right after the other. They were so cool! I think some kids were getting restless cause they were going for so long, but they were just wonderful. About 10 minutes into the show, even my dad, who is generally quiet, commented on how good they were. The finale was spectacular as well. It wasnt one of those "jam all the fireworks up there and light up the sky as bright as you can" finales, but it almost seemed color-coordinated!! All the fireworks matched and it made it look really good. I was really impressed and it seemed like a lot of other people were as well. I talked to Cara the next day at work, and she thought the exact same thing. She loved them and said that they were the best shes probably ever been to. I was just sad I didnt get to watch them with my someone special :o(

When I got home, I made myself a sandwich from the barbequed pulled pork my mom had made earlier in the crock pot (its SOOO good, and I am NOT a pork fan) and then I got online and chatted to a few people. I talked to Lissy until she went to bed, and then talked to Andy when he got home from work. We ended up talking on the phone cause it was bedtime for me, and then I went to sleep shortly after hanging up. It was like 3:30am by that point and I had to work the next day. :(

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06