July 14 - Carousel Mall and BABW
12:44 a.m. || 07.17.03

Monday, July 14th Around 7am, I was woken up by Andy, telling me to move my hand. During the night, I had sorta smeared the henna on my hand (I had decided to leave it on overnight) and it was sorta on my face and some of the pieces on my hand were out of place too. He picked the pieces off of my face, where they left faint brown marks, and I ended up picking the henna off of my hand right then and there in bed. It is now somewhere on Andy's floor LOL The monkey looked alright (with a few extra smear marks) but was a little light. I knew it would darken over time, but it was still fairly light. As it turns out, Andy's mom's henna was REALLY light, but still looked awesome. There are really no definite guarentees with henna, as it has a lot to do with your body chemistry at the time, etc. as to how well it will take to your skin.

Anyways... Andy and I didnt wake up fully until after noon. We were so tired, it was nice to sleep in. Andy's mom took the day off from work, so when we finally decided to get out of bed, we asked what they wanted for lunch (Arby's) and Andy showered and went to pick it up. While he was gone, I showered and got out just as he arrived home. They all got roast beef sandwichs, but I got my usual Roast Chicken Caesar sandwich. We ate while watching a replay of the 1999 Home Run Derby, and then Andy had to get going to work.

Andy's mom and grandma went outside to play some games, and I came in and messed around on the computer for awhile. Around 5:30 I decided to head out to Syracuse so I could go to Carousel Mall, back to the Build-A-Bear Workshop. The drive out was nice, except I saw a few troopers, and it took me about 30 minutes. I walked around for awhile, went to the BABW, where I got Andy's koala that I wrote about a few entries back. Let me tell you how that worked...

First, I picked out the shell of the koala bear. Then, I had to bring it over to the stuffing center, where they explain about the special bar code that is put inside the bear (the same bar code is swiped when you make your Birth Certificate, and is attached to your address, so if you ever lose the bear and it is returned to a BABW, they will return your animal to you! Then the girl put the bear shell onto the tube that spits out the stuffing, and I have to press a paddle with my foot in order to get the stuffing to come out. I do this until it is filled, then the girl hands me back the koala bear, all stuffed, and makes me hug it to make sure it is "hugable". They will take out or add more stuffing, if you want it. Then, I have to go over to the heart machine, press and button and grab a heart when they fly up. I have to bring the heart back over to the girl, and she told me to rub it back and forth in my hand to make it warm. Then, she tells a little rhyme of things I have to do with the heart, and its so cute... It goes something like this (but hers rhymed...): "Put it on your head, so it is nice and smart; put it on your ear for all the secrets you will share; put it on your arms, so it grows big and strong; put in on your funny bone, for all the laughs you will share; put it on your heart, for all the love you will give; put it on your tummy, so it will never grow hungry; put it on your foot, for all the places you will go". Then she made me jump up and down on one foot, spin around in a circle, and do some other silly things. They made some other people race around the store, yell silly things, etc. Then, I had to close my eyes, make a wish, kiss the heart and then put it inside of the bear. The girl then stitched it up, and sent me over to the "bathing station". This is where you give your bear an "air bath" and blow all the fuzzies off of it. There are also brushes to groom your animal. Then, you can go pick out clothes, if you wish. I decided I would, since I got one of the less expensive animals (the way I picked the koala was I had Andy name off his favorite animal, but he couldnt, so I made him turn around as I went to the BABW website, and I read off all the animals they had, and he picked the koala). I looked around at all the clothes (of which there is a TON, it is unreal... check out the website to get an idea) and it is all good quality clothing. I decided to try on a couple outfits (you can try on whatever you want, and the workers will put everything away for you), and so I stood there struggling to hold the bear and put on the outfit at the same time. Just then, a worker comes up to me and tells me I can take the bear to the dressing room to try on the clothes. And I am thinking "Dressing room? For a stuffed animal?" but then she leads me to a little table with a mirror and a brush. It is very cute. So, I try on 2 outfits, a basketball uniform and a baseball uniform. I find out that each has their own shoes to go with it too, but of course, you have to buy them seperately. I decided on the basketball uniform, which comes with a little basketball, and then I have to go pick out my free pair of sandals (they had a special where if you bought an animal and a 2-piece outfit, you got sandals for free). I eventually picked them out (they look like REAL peope sandals!) and headed over to make my birth certificate. Once I got that done, I headed to the checkout, where they gave me the carrier for the koala, and instead of putting the sandals in a bag, they put them in a cardboard trunk, which looks like a little suitcase. I find out later that it also turns into a bed LOL

After leaving BABW, I went to the Hallmark store looking for Charming Tails figurines, but I couldnt find ANY. I also went to Spencers, looking for more Care Bears for Beth, but couldnt find any there either. I was really thirsty at this point, but I didnt have any cash on me, so I decided to get going. At this point, I look at my phone for the time, and noticed that I missed a call from Andy while he was on his first break, and also I had an email from Lissy. I also noticed the time... It was 7:30 already!! I had wanted to be home by 8 to watch the Home Run Derby, so I got my butt in gear and left. I put AIM on my phone and talked to Lissy some on my way back. When I was almost off the Thruway (which, by the way, I passed a few more Troopers), I looked up into the sky, which was getting darker as I headed further east) and there was a rainbow! It hadnt rained at all in Syracuse, but as I got off the Thruway, the roads were soaked. By the time I got to Andy's, the roads were dry again, and they had gotten no rain. How weird.

When I got back, Andy's grandma and I watched the Home Run Derby. We were rooting for Jason Giambi of the Yankees, but he went out in the second round. He hit so many home runs in that round though, that any other time, he most likely woulda won... but his opponent just hit more. Actually, his opponent tied the record for most home runs in a round, which incidentally, was held by Jason Giambi, at 14 home runs.

After watching that, I came in here and got on the computer and talked to Lissy and Aim�e for most of the night. Thats when Aim�e told me that she had bought me the Gold Membership to Diaryland! How cool is that?? Aim�e and I were also talking about BABW, I told her how I got Andy the koala and she was telling me how her whole family has them, and how her daughter Natalie sleeps with her BAB Kitty every night (oh yeah, BABW has more than just bears... lotsa different animals, but no penguins... Sorry Lis). Lissy had also gone for ice cream with her boy Ben that evening, so she had TONS to tell me about that. I am so happy for her! She totally deserved this happiness!!

A little after 1am, Andy got home, and we decided to go to Hannaford (the grocery store Andy used to work at) and get some ice cream. We ended up getting these Oreo Klondike ice cream things, and also picked up a few things for Andy's grandma. When we got home, Andy finally noticed the BABW animal carrier on his bed, and so he came in and opened it. He was so surprised, and he liked it a lot. He put the sandals on it right away (it was so funny) and propped him up on his printer. Awww! After we were done talking about the bear (I showed him the website and all the different stuff there, and I also showed him Natalie's Kitty), we put on a movie and layed in bed for awhile watching it, but fell asleep shortly after that. We were pooped.

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06