Summit :o)
2:03 p.m. || 10.06.03

Well... I just got a call from Summit, the place I had the interview with on Thursday, and they offered me a position as a clasroom aide!

But for some reason, I dunno, I'm not happy. I dont know if its about this job, or just in general. In fact, I feel like crying. I'm still reeling from Shana, and then Andy and I got into an argument over something stupid, and then I get this call from Summit and they offer me a job. I have to go for a drug screen on Wednesday, which I'll pass, and then we leave on Thursday for Texas! We come back the 19th, and I start at Summit on the 20th. Wow. So tomorrow will be my last free weekday.

I just have mixed feelings about this, and a lot of it has to do with Andy, and living so far away. Right now, he is going to school full-time and working full-time. I am really proud of him and want him to continue to do this, there is no question about that. But he works until 1am, which means he stays up when he gets home, and then sleeps in in the morning. My job for Summit starts at 8:30am and goes until 3:30pm, and then I also have grad school two days a week, from 4:30-7. By the time he gets home, I'll be in bed, and when I get up, he'll be sleeping. I just feel like we wont be able to talk to each other as much as we are used to.

Then comes the matter of actually seeing each other. I work until 3:30 on Friday, and I can drive out after that, but then he isnt done til 1am. He has both Saturday and Sunday off, but if I were to be out there, I would have to leave Sunday night to come back here. Or, he would drive out after work Friday night, and stay til Monday, but if I am getting up at 7am, I wont see him at all on Monday either.

Its just a hard situation, and it will work itself out I'm sure. But it still seems hard for now. Another thing this means is that I have to stop procrastinating on doing schoolwork. I can no longer wait til the day something is due to work on it, as I am doing today.

There are some good things about this job though... I'm not making any more money that I was for People Inc. But I'm not making less either. I was making $8.20 an hour there, and this was increased to $8.50, but I never really saw that, as it was after I stopped working there. However, I did get paid retro-pay back to April for it, so that was nice. So, I'll be making $8.20 an hour. Its only 35 hours a week, but it will be enough I'm sure.

Also, in February I will turn 25, and will then no longer be covered by my dad's health insurance. However, at Summit, if you are full-time, your health benefits are paid 100% in full! No health insurance coming out of my paycheck! How great is that! Also, the woman I spoke to on the phone said that their copays are only like $10 or $15, which is MUCH better than what I have now... Ever since the contract between General Motors and Delphi and the UAW (United Auto Workers) or whoever went wacky, the insurance has SUCKED. We have to pay office visits in full. And they dont cover my birth control pills either. Hopefully this new insurance will. And the good thing about this coverage is, it starts on the 1st of the month of your first full month working there! So, my coverage starts November 1st! No waiting period or anything. How cool is that?

I'm still uncertain about how I feel about this... but I'm starting to feel a little better. It'll be hard for Andy and I, but I know we'll make it through it. And I wont be making a ton of money, I know. But right now I am making NO money. It will feel really good to be able to support myself again, and to have some extra spending money when I need it. Oh yeah! I almost forgot... no need to spend money on a new wardrobe... I can wear jeans and shorts, and sneakers are all but a must! Thats really nice... things go much better when you are dressed comfortably. And... Tara works there! She is a teacher in the Early Autism Preschool Program. So we can carpool and everything together! Although, she is having a rough time of it right now, and I'm not sure how much longer she will tough it out there... lots of problems with her aides and stuff, I think I wrote about it already... But that will definitely be nice to know someone there!

Well, I'm gonna end this and finish up my midterm that is due today, and also try and come up with a research topic for my class as well. Feel free to leave messages... I will definitely appreciate them!

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06