My Snowy Day
6:55 p.m. || 03.16.04

Ugh, I really hope we dont have school tomorrow! You'd think by March 16th, our real big snow would be over, but no. Two of our kids didnt come to school today (one half-day kid and one full-day kid). Another full-day kid went home at lunchtime. His parents came to pick him up because of the weather. I couldnt believe that ALL three of our PM kids came in, one of who's mom drives him to school. It took me 30 minutes to get home, thats about twice as long. The side roads and surface roads werent too bad. Slushy, really. As soon as I got on the 290, I regretted it, but it really wasnt too horrible. I did about 30mph and stayed in the far right lane so I wouldnt have to switch lanes at all. At one point I had a posse of snowplows behind me, taking up all 3 lanes, and they eventually passed me. I had hoped it would be better as soon as they passed me, but it really wasnt. All they did was spread the snow around and they took away my tire lanes. When I got to the 190, I just stayed in the right lane again (instead of flying all the way over into the left lane and using the EZ Pass lane), and went through an actual toll lane, so I could come straight onto the bridge. The bridge wasnt too bad, but as soon as we got down to Grand Island, the visibility was cut drastically. It was never very good the entire trip, but now it was down to almost nothing, so I got off at the first exit instead of my normal exit, and just took the surface roads home. Nothing was really plowed (or if it was, it was just blown right back into the road) but I had an Erie County sherrif two cars behind me, so I felt better. I finally made it home, and only slid pulling into my apartment complex. I was so glad to be home, Grand Island is SO SO bad. I had to walk through a drift up to my knees to get into my apartment building, and I have to go BACK out to get the stuff out of my trunk I brought with me to school. I had packed a bag and also brought my school stuff cause I have a midterm tomorrow. A lot of people think we will have a snow day tomorrow, that would be a nice treat! A couple schools in the southern tier had snow days today, and A LOT of schools cancelled their afternoon activities, but not us, nope. Hopefully tomorrow. Well, I am hungry so I am gonna go find something to eat... I'll leave ya with a picture of our little radar here so you can see all the snow we've gotten, for those of you who dont live around here, and especially LAURA who is away in France, lucky! We've gotten quite a bit of snow already (my car looked like a station wagon rather than a sedan before I brushed it off) and we're supposed to total about 12 inches by tonight. Its still snowing and blowing out, and isnt supposed to stop for quite awhile...

Here are some pics... They really dont do justice to how limited the visibility was... Some of the pics are out of my window, and the others I actually went outside and took the pics... Anyways, I'm bored and wanted to post some pictures, so here they are!

radar, 4:30pm

out my window, 5:50pm

out my window

6:50pm, snowdrift up to my knees, in front of my apartment... those are my tracks in the snow

6:50pm, the car on the left is mine, i thought this was a good shot to show the snow blowing sideways

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06