I knew these kids
9:51 a.m. || 06.24.04

I wrote a real entry here. But I wanted to write about something I've been reading in the news. A week or so ago, there was a man in Niagara Falls who killed his wife and then set their home on fire to try and cover it up. They couple has three kids and they were all in school at the time. When I saw their last name and where they lived, I thought I might know them from when I volunteered at the Center For Joy, a local afterschool program. Well, in an article in today's paper, their uncle names the children, and I do indeed know them, at least the 2 older girls. How sad. I cant even imagine. Its such an awful thing. I remember them being really sweet girls, and one of them, Arielle, loved me and always asked me to work on her homework with her. Its so sad. Not only did they lose their mother, but their father killed her, and now they've lost him too.

The Uncle of three children, who lost their mother and Niagara falls home in a fire allegedly set by their father, says family members and friends are stepping up to help them.

Niagara Falls Police say Joseph O'Connor told them he strangled his wife Michelle and then set their home on fire last Thursday. He pleaded not guilty and told the judge he had not taken his lithium medication before the incident.

Matt Henretta says his sister was laid to rest on Wednesday. He says his six year old nephew Johnathon, 12 year old niece Arielle, and 13 year old niece Amber were taken in by their loving aunt who is the sister of their father. They are living in her Cheektowaga home which is regarded to be too small for three children.

Henretta says a fund has been set up to help the children to replace their clothing, toys, and personal items which were lost in the fire.

That fund was set up in connection with the Niagara Falls School District. Donations will be accepted at :
Michelle's Children's Fund
Post Office Box 595
Buffalo, NY 14231

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06