Rest in Peace Chester Hamster :(
1:02 p.m. || 08.24.04

Well, I knew it was coming for awhile, but it still makes me sad and cry. My Chester Hamster passed away last night. He was staying at my parents' house cause I am at Andy's over my 2 week break. He was 2 1/2 years old, which is pretty old for a little hamster. A couple weeks ago I noticed he had the start of cataracts, and he was getting a little clumsy in his cage, and last week, he was really cold, even though it was warm in the apartment. I took him out and played with him to get his blood moving a little, but I knew what was happening. He just hadnt really been moving around and didnt have much interest in his favorite snacks. Before my parent took him on Thursday, I took him out, held him for a bit and gave him a kiss. I had a feeling it would be the last time I saw him. :(

My mom is going to bury him in a shoebox next to Cody and Mandy in our backyard. She put in some of his treats, his wood chews and the food that was in his cage. She put in his bedding and his fluff that he always slept in. I wrote him a note and emailed it to my mom, and attached 2 pictures that she could print out and put in with him.

I feel awful that I wasnt there with him, and that I'm not there to bury him. I know he wasnt alone, and that I am grateful for. My mom said he died peacefully in his sleep, so thats good.

I will really miss him, he kept me company in the apartment. It always seemed quieter when Chester was away. Andy said he'd buy me a new hamster, and maybe I will get one, I'll see how I feel when I get home and Chester isnt there. I dont know how I'd feel with a different hamster. I know that I'll always love and miss my Chester Hamster though. Or as Andy affectionately called him, Chester Rat.

I love you Chester!!

then || now

new old profile cast rings books kids books
book
notes email layout hostess


LAST FIVE
Andrew's 5 Month Pictures - 09.27.06
4 Month Pics - 09.05.06
3-Month Pics - 08.23.06
Craniofacial appointment - 08.18.06
4 Months - 08.17.06